Error in reading profiler output

Hi,

I’m quite new to CUDA and “brandnew” to CUDA Visual Profiler (both version 2.2).

I have a problem profiling a CUDA enabled progam with cudaprof. The application works fine, with and without CUDA. Unfortunately the error is rather imprecise.
After I ran the application using cudaprof, I get a messagebox saying “Error in reading profiler output.” without any further information.

Profiling the examples coming with the SDK works fine.

Do I have to make the application profiling-capable in some way? Could there be anything wrong with folders or env variables? Is there a profiler log or can I debug the problem somehow?

I also tried to set CUDA_PROFILE=1. Do I have to recompile the application afterwards?

I’m using cudaprof on a 64-bit CentOS system (Red Hat 4.1.2) and a Geforce GTS 8800.

Greetings,
Tobias

Nobody out there with an idea about this? :unsure:

Not sure if it relates, but make sure that the GPU is done calculating before the profiler stops collecting information.

I’ve often seen that in that case the profiler will not show the results or have partial results.

eyal

Thank you for the answer.

You mean setting “Max. Execution Time” higher than the actual computing time? That is definately given and unfortunately doesn’t solve the problem.

Any other ideas? Is there a way to find out more about the error message? Debug it in some way?

Cheers

I had a similar problem. For me, the problem was caused by accidentally calling cudaThreadSynchronize() after the final cudaThreadExit(). I guess this error could also arise if you don’t use cudaThreadExit() at all.

Greetings,
Mattes

Hi tobsen,

unfortunately I’ve got the same problem as you have.

I use cuda 2.2 with fedora 11 for 32-bits architecture.

Sorry Mattes, but your solution doesn’t work for me.

Btw. CUDA reference manual says: cudaThreadExit() is implicitly called on host thread exit.

what do you mean by this ?