GTX295 multi GPU programming

I am a newbie of CUDA.
I run a program with CUDA cause hang of the windows.
I think that may be the program using all the resource of the GPU.

I want to run the program use another GPU in GTX295.
How can i do it?
Using CUDA 2.2

Check out the SimpleMultiGPU project in the CUDA SDK for a start.

I can only list one device on my computer.
I have one GTX295 card.
It must have two GPU inside.

you need to disable multi_gpu mode in Nvidia Control Panel to use both GPUs External Media

Just one side question: Are there techniques (SLI/drivers …) allowing the CUDA system to treat multiple GPU devices (on one or multiple PCIe slots) on a PC (or a cluster node) as a single virtual CUDA device, whose computing capability is from combining all component devices? This will ease manual inter-GPU scheduling in CUDA programming quite a lot.

I think no, I have 2 GTX 295, and I work with 4 GPUs. I use the multithreading, so I lauch four tasks, and after I compact the results by the host,

after a transfer vi CudaMemCopy on the host of each result.

Thanks, x248

I’ve recognized that the main barrier is with combining global memories. Each GPU has its own memory, and making all global memories accessed transparently requires intensive work on CPU side.

BTW, does SLI help somethings for CUDA?

i had set it before.

But the cuDeviceGetCount (int *) said have 1 device only.

for SLI, I think no. I read you have to work without it, and instead of that, Cuda will not see one GPU, which is only one, and not the sum

of it.

You have to try to build your program to do only one workof transfering datas at the start and one at the end.

You splitt your program is four equivalent tasks, one per GPU.

For each GPU you transfer datas in global memory.

After, from the global memory you try to work only with registers or shared memory on cache on constant memory which are a lot faster than global memory.