Interfacing daughter boards and break-out boards for Interfacing

Hello Jetson community.

I am new to using Jetson’s for development but I thought I would ask. If this question has already been answered please direct me to the previous thread and we’ll call it done. But I searched and haven’t found anything particular about this. Maybe because it is just so dang obvious?

Here’s what I am wanting to know==> Since the Jetson has great communications what form of “break-out” boards or interfacing daughter boards are used for motor control and to interface with other peripheral sensors like LIDAR etc?

Is it most popular to use the CAN capabilities of the board and then just send those commands to a “daughter board” that translates the CAN signals into the appropriate analog output signals for the appropriate device? Is it just preferable to use the GPIO pins for various tasks? Are there boards to break out the GPIO header into terminals or other interfacing that makes wiring and development a lot easier?

What is the recommended method of interfacing with other 3rd party equipment? Hoping the answers are straightforward and not convoluted - I really would like to use Commercially available hardware that I can integrate with the controller to do what I need rather than develop a solution from scratch.

Ideas??

Brian

The Jetson has CAN, SPI, I2C, UART, and USB interfaces, all of which can be used.
I’m using UART and USB, and am planning to move some of the usage to CAN for more robustness.
However, you should use whatever controllers you feel are most appropriate to your application.

Start by selecting the actuators/sensors you need, by price/weight/performance/etc.
Then, figure out what interface those actuators and sensors need.
Then, use the appropriate bus to talk to the devices from the Jetson.

For example, you could choose Dynamixel MX-64-T servos, and a USB USB2AX interface to talk to them.