My Jetson Nano GPIOs don't work!

Hello everyone! I’m a beginner trying to set the GPIOs as input / output, but I couldn’t. I’ve tried lots of different codes without results. Furthermore, I’ve measured voltage between pins 2 and 6 (from the 40 pins connector), but I got 0 volts. I’ve tried measuring voltage between pins 1-6, but I got 0 volts too. It’s supposed to have 5 volts and 3.3 volts recpectively. Currently, I’m using a Jetson Nano 2GB. Please, I’d like your help!

hello juanpalaciosvargas,

had you tried this Jetson-GPIO python library that enables the use of Jetson’s GPIOs.

Yes, I tried to finish all this repository.
But in this line:

“sudo cp lib/python/Jetson/GPIO/99-gpio.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/”

I got this error:
“cp: cannot stat ‘lib/python/Jetson/GPIO/99-gpio.rules’: No such file or directory”

had you downloaded the source to Jetson.GPIO?
i.e. $ git clone https://github.com/NVIDIA/jetson-gpio.git

it’ll create ~/jetson-gpio/ then you should be able to copying the 99-gpio.rules file into the rules.d directory.
thanks

1 Like

-Hi. Yes, It works. I ran this code:
$ git clone https://github.com/NVIDIA/jetson-gpio.git

-Then, I was able to copy the file “99-gpio.rules”.
$ sudo cp /home/juanpalacios/jetson-gpio/lib/python/Jetson/GPIO/99-gpio.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/

So, I rebooted my Jetson Nano, in order to try an example from the /sample file.

$ cd /home/juanpalacios/jetson-gpio/samples
$ python3 simple_out.py

-So, this appear in the Terminal:

Outputting 1 to pin 18
Outputting 0 to pin 18
Outputting 1 to pin 18
Outputting 0 to pin 18

But, I got another problem. The “simple_out.py” example it’s supposed to activate the pin 12 (18 Board level), but I get 0 volts between PIN 12 and GND. I try measuring voltage between 5V and GND, and I got 0 volts too. Please, What else do I have to do?

there’s level shifter, please also see Applications Note of 40-Pin Expansion Header GPIO Usage Considerations for reference,
thanks