Optix SDK: How can I modifiy a simple example, re-compile and run?

I am new to OptiX and I have the OptiX SDK installed and running. I would like to get the normal shader code in the tutorial at level 0 to run. I am specifically interested in producing the same “pink-green” shaded box, then altering the colors and recompiling the code run. So far I have not had much luck with the INSTALL-LINUX.txt and the CMakeLists.txt documentation in creating a working directory. Seeing the pre-compiled samples working are great to watch but, I would like to get a separate simple example running! Any help is greatly appreciated!

You need to write a bit more detailed where you problem is located?
Are the example programs not compiling, does you CMake generate valid Makefiles, …

(1) The following $ make command does not generate the .cpp and .cu files in the new SDK rebuild directory. Only the executable files are compiled.

(2) Copying the contents of the SDK to another directory: When you modify the .cpp or .cu files the changes are not reflected in the re-compiled executable file.

Thanks SStypeR5,
regarding point (2): are you sure you’re modifying the CMake (CMakefiles) paths to your sources?

OptiX samples usually work like this: when you trigger a rebuild command (make), CMake is invoked targeting CMakefiles residing in their source directory. These in order invoke nvcc and the rest of the dependencies to compile CUDA C into ptx files that are then used by OptiX.

I don’t fully understand what does point 1 mean, can you expand a little more on that please?

For my issue with (2)
-I will check that out…

For my issue with (1)