Proper way for building kernel in jetpack6 and jetson linux 36.3 for gadgetfs

Hello everyone,

I followed the Kernel customization guide to build a custom kernel with GadgetFS enabled in Menuconfig. Although I successfully built the kernel, I noticed that the changes I made are not reflected in the .config files. Below are the build logs:

Could anyone suggest how to enable GadgetFS properly or what steps to take after enabling it in Menuconfig? Thank you!

Hi,
Do you use Orin Nano or Jetson Nano? The topic is created in Jetson Nano category.

sorry my bad its for orin nano

Hi,
Please try this:
Building the kernel from kernel source jetpack 6 , jetson orin nx 16GB - #5 by DaneLLL

The default path needs root permission, so yo may not build it with correct toolchain. May try to create another non-root-permission path to build it, and then copy to Linux_for_Tegra folder. And please build nvidia-oot along with upstream kernel.

Hello, thanks for the reply!

I’m fairly new to this, so I hope I don’t say anything wrong. Are you suggesting that I should extract the BSP source code to a directory where I don’t need root permissions? Or do I need to move my cross-compiler, which I currently have located at:

/home/sreeja/l4t-gcc/aarch64--glibc--stable-2022.08-1/bin/aarch64-buildroot-linux-gnu-

to a non-root directory instead?

Hi,
Please extract the source code to non-root directory.

Hello @DaneLLL

I have attempted the first procedure you suggested, running it with sudo, but unfortunately, it did not resolve the issue, as I am still seeing the default settings in the configuration file. I will now try your other suggestion of placing the build in a non-root directory and building it there.

In the meantime, I have a few questions: