Setup and Test Infiniband Partitions

I’m new to InfiniBand. I’m trying to setup partitions for HPC and the documentation is somewhat lacking.
I’m using connectx5 drivers and the latest opensm.
What I would like to do is have 3 partitions ipoib.
Default = provisioning network
P_1 = compute nodes 1-6
P_2 = compute nodes 7-12

I want the provisioning network to be able to talk to everything, but I only want P_1 to be able to talk to P_1 and P_2 only be able to talk to P_2. I have read I can do this using the partitions.conf and using “limited” but I can’t seem to get the syntax to work, and I can’t find any examples online.

Once the partition is created, how do I assign adapters to it?

Here’s my partitions.conf:

Default=0x7fff : ALL, SELF=full ;
Default=0x7fff : ALL, ALL_SWITCHES=full, SELF=full ;

P_1=0xa0,ipoib, rate=16, mtu=5, defmember=limited : 0x8541c9ffff81406d, 0x8540c9ffff8193b1, ALL_SWITCHES=full;

P_2=0xb0,ipoib, rate=16, mtu=5, defmember=limited : 0x8540c8ffff92a0e5, 0x8540c9ffff914085, ALL_SWITCHES=full;

You can check Nvidia docs or github.
e.g.
https://docs.nvidia.com/networking/display/mlnxofedv24010331/nvidia+sm#src-2571322259_NVIDIASM-Partitions
or
https://github.com/linux-rdma/opensm/blob/master/doc/partition-config.txt

Examples show the various ways for adding a guid or a group of devices into a partition

Yes, I have read those docs over and over. The documentation is lacking and doesn’t make sense to me. That’s why I asked here.

You are asking how to add devices into a partition.
Docs clearly state how to do it.

what are you missing?

I don’t fully understand what defmember does. It says “Specifies default membership for port GUID list.” but when I use that in the above example, those GUIDS are not assigned to the partition that I can find.