ttyTHS1 been damaged. Alternate UART port available on Jetson nano?

While testing my UART port, I accidentally connected pin 8 to GND instead of connecting pin 8 to pin 10 for echo. I have 2 question:

1. Will the above scenario damage the UART port connected to pin 8 and pin 10?
  2. If it has been damaged, is there an alternate UART port I could use for communication with a STM32F411RE microcontroller?

Hi hpadharia,

Are you using the devkit or custom board for Jetson Nano?
What’s your Jetpack version in use?

I think it should be fine.
Could you perform loopback test for UART1 through short PIN8 and PIN10 now?

There’re 3 UART interfaces on Jetson Nano:
UART0: on M.2 Key E
UART1: on 40-pins expansion header (which you are using)
UART2: on automation header, which is used for debug UART

I am currently using the devkit for jetson nano.
I am new to this and so not sure if the following is the thing you were looking for but I am currently using R32 (release), Revision: 7.4.

I am currently running the following code with pin 8 and 10 connected.

import serial
import time
ser = serial.Serial(
port=‘/dev/ttyTHS1’,
baudrate=115200,
parity=serial.PARITY_NONE,
stopbits=serial.STOPBITS_ONE,
bytesize=serial.EIGHTBITS,
timeout = 1 # Set the timeout to 1 second on the receive line
)

while True:
# Sending data
ser.write(b’Hello STM32!\r\n’)
time.sleep(1)

# Receiving data
if ser.inWaiting() > 0:
    data = ser.read()
    print(f"Received: {data}")

There is nothing showing up in the terminal window and so I am assuming that the port might not be working.

Apparently, my microcontroller does not have any wireless transmission and therefore, I wont be able to use UART0 i guess (correct me if I am wrong).
I would like to transmit data at 10Hz between my microcontroller and jetson nano. Is it okay to use UART2 for this? If yes, what should I use as the ttyTHS* value?

Could you just run the following command to check if you can receive the data you send?

$ sudo su