Unable to work out clag between cumulus and juniper

Dear community,

I have a couple Cumulus switches [Edgecore AS4610 1GbE] that I’m trying to connect to a couple Juniper Core switches using CLAG.

My Cumulus switches have been staked together using peerlink and all that good stuff, and I’m able to create clags between the Cumulus switches to downlink linux servers as a test and it works just fine. However, when I create uplink clags to connect to the Juniper pair, it seems like that the LACP protocol finishes fine but soon after I believe Juniper shuts the ports. I was able to see one ping go through when connecting things. On Cumulus, I’m able to see the Junipers show up as the neighbors (I see their hostnames when I list the bond config), but the clag just won’t remain up.

I’m not a Juniper expert but was told by the other networking team handling them that they’re using MLAG (which is essentially LACP) and have LACP configured to mode active in their switches.

Does anyone have any experience connecting Cumulus switches to Juniper switches? Maybe there’s some parameters that need to be tuned on both sides of the connection? Appreciate any insights on what to look for or any previous experiences you may share.

My configs are attached:
1gsw0101.txt (1.7 KB)
1gsw0102.txt (1.7 KB)

Thank you in advance!

I don’t have any experience with Juniper devices but the behavior you’re describing sounds an awful lot like a Spanning Tree loop avoidance behavior.
In that scenario the port might be up for a few seconds, Cumulus CLAG primary will send a BPDU to the Juniper device, Juniper is set to a port-fast like behavior and instantly disables the port.
I would check the STP settings and BPDU filtering/blocking/portfast configurations.

Hello @epulvino, thank you so much for your insight on the topic.