V4L2 Camera Driver Development Custom Controls

Hello. I am new to Jetson Nano and V4L2 Driver Development in general. I have written a working V4L2 camera driver for another Linux platform. While porting to Jetson Nano I came up with 2 questions I have not found an answer for in the examples. If I was missing something, please let me know :)
While porting I was using your guide on how to implement the driver with tegracam. So I am using 2.0. Since I am using monochrome sensor I am not using your ISP with gstreamer, instead I use v4l2 C-API in my own C++ application I am writing. I mostly used the v4l2-cuda example for that.

I can set exposure time correctly using v4l2-ctl -c exposure=90 from the command line. But when I try to set it in my C Application it gives “Invalid Argument”.

bool v4l2_ctrl_set(int fd, uint32_t id, int val)
{
    struct v4l2_control ctrl;
    CLEAR(ctrl);

ctrl.id = id;
    ctrl.value = val;
    if (xioctl(fd, VIDIOC_S_CTRL, &ctrl) == -1) {
        std::cout << "Failed to set ctrl with id " 
                  << id << " to value " << val
                  << "\nerror (" << errno << "): " << strerror(errno) << std::endl;

return false;
    }

return true;
}
  1. How do I set V4l2-ctrls with C-API using the tegracam implementation in my driver?

2. How should I implement custom V4L2 controls using tegracam. For example I want to set top/left readout offset values for my camera. Should I change the tegracam files, or should I add another custom control handler from my driver? How to make it compatible with tegracam 2.0 driver development?

Sorry for my basic questions.

Best regards,
jb

hello busch.johannes,

assume you have check Sensor Software Driver Programming Guide for sensor driver implementation.

you may check below kernel sources for available TEGRA_CAMERA_CID_* controls,
let’s taking preferred stride controls as an example,
$L4T_Sources/r32.4.3/Linux_for_Tegra/source/public/kernel/nvidia/include/media/tegra-v4l2-camera.h