Vino VNC Terribly Slow

Hi all.

Successfully set up Vino VNC server as described in the manual files on Jetson Nano desktop, it starts automatically with auto login turned on every time Nano boots, but it is incredibly slow to react - it takes about 2 seconds to react to either a click or a button press. Strangely enough in fact it is slow only to display it via VNC - everything executes almost immediately on the physical screen attached via HDMI.

Any ideas on making Vino snappier?

P.S.: FYI RasPi 3 with RealVNC Server flies on the same WiFi network with all the same conditions, so has to be an issue with Vino

I have no experience with Vino, but it may be a significant amount of data to be sent from Jetson, so you may try to increase TX buffers with:

sudo sysctl -w net.core.wmem_max=33554432
sudo sysctl -w net.core.wmem_default=33554432

Oh, many thanks, will try.
Update: I tried and it didn’t help much - here’s the video I recorded of how slow it actually is. You can hear me typing and clicking and actually see when the changes appear 😔

sudo sysctl -w net.core.wmem_max=33554432
sudo sysctl -w net.core.wmem_default=33554432

What are the default values for those just in case?

Default values are both 212992.
You should get that again after reboot.

Maybe some more ideas? 💡

Someone more experienced with Vino and Nano may better advise.

My only ideas so far would be:

• Check encryption is disabled for Vino server.
  • Try wired ethernet. Wifi errors may give such problems. You would check /var/log/syslog on Nano for wifi errors. If some are logged, you may check the wifi interface addresses and config, and/or change channel.
  • If wired ethernet is not better, you may try another virtual desktop such as NoMachine.

Try using a different vnc-viewer. For me remmina was lagging but gnome-boxes works much better.