When will Nvida offer proper Linux support for optimus notebooks?

I regret buying my optimus notebook with Nvidia GeForce 730M. I’ve been strugling for the past 3 years to use Linux, without any success. Today was the first time I could fully use the hardware I bought, on Xubuntu 14.04. But Linux support is still far from satisfactory, compared to Windows support. I have huge performance drops when using other Desktop Environments than XFCE (gnome, cinnamon, mate…). Also, Ubuntu is the only distro that currently nvidia-prime works. But even on Ubuntu, Nvidia/Intel switch is not dynamic as in Windows. You either have to work 100% of the time using Intel or logout/login to work 100% of the time using Nvidia. This is unbearable. Linux users don’t have proper hardware support for more than 3 years already. When will Nvida offer proper Linux support for optimus notebooks?

Why haven’t you mentioned/tried Bumblebee?

For two reasons. First, Bumblebee is not Nvidia’s support for Linux users. It’s a desperate attitude made by unpaid hobbyists. And second, because it’s terrible and offers horrendous performance. It’s not intended to be the definitive solution for optimus notebooks, it’s merely a temporary workaround while Nvidia doesn’t provide proper Linux support for the optimus technology. Hence, I’m here to ask when will Nvidia offer proper Linux support for optimus notebooks.

Well, the GPL isn’t helping :-(

Source: Fedora Workstation Next Steps: Wayland and Graphics | Christian F.K. Schaller

So it looks like NVIDIA is working closely together with Red Hat (employees many people working on Gnome and Fedora) to get this working. EGLDevice and EGLStreams are also proposals made by NVIDIA.

Thanks for the update. It’s sad to know that even after 3 years Linux still has no support for optimus technology. If I knew this before buying, I would never buy an optimus notebook. I regret so much.

Read my topic and you’ll understand.

So… do we have any progress?