Another beginner question: CUDA on SUSE 11.0

Dear all,
I am a C++ etc coder, but new to vectorised computing. Just bought a GTX 280! Now I am trying to install it under SUSE 11.0. Has anyone experience with that? I had already problems installing the CUDA driver, it complained that no CUDA compatible GPU was installed… Should I downgrade to SUSE 10.3 or is it another problem?
Appreciate any help!
Cheers,
Micahel

openSUSE 11.0 is not officially supported, however there has been a success story posted to this forum: http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=72500

OpenSUSE 11.0 will be supported in the next CUDA release.

Thanks a lot! I tried to install it with this tipps. When I run now deviceQuery, I get the following error message:

FATAL: Error inserting nvidia (/lib/modules/2.6.25.11-0.1-default/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia.ko): No such device

NVIDIA: failed to load the NVIDIA kernel module.

There is no device supporting CUDA.

Device 0: “Device Emulation (CPU)”

Major revision number: 9999

Minor revision number: 9999

Total amount of global memory: 4294967295 bytes

Number of multiprocessors: 16

Number of cores: 128

Total amount of constant memory: 65536 bytes

Total amount of shared memory per block: 16384 bytes

Total number of registers available per block: 8192

Warp size: 1

Maximum number of threads per block: 512

Maximum sizes of each dimension of a block: 512 x 512 x 64

Maximum sizes of each dimension of a grid: 65535 x 65535 x 1

Maximum memory pitch: 262144 bytes

Texture alignment: 256 bytes

Clock rate: 1.35 GHz

Concurrent copy and execution: No

Test PASSED

I also attached the bug report from NVIDIA. It does not recognise the card I guess… Does anyone know, what to do? Thanks a lot for any tipp!!

Cheers,

Michael
nvidia_bug_report.txt (156 KB)

Looks like you nvidia driver isn’t loaded. Are you running without X? Try loading the kernel modul manually.

modprobe nvidia

Hmm, I tried

init 3

modprobe nvidia

and get as answer: