CUDA, Nvidia GPUs and Microsoft Excel can CUDA improve speed of MS Excel

Hi, I work with large spreadsheets in microsoft excel. I’m not a programmer, just an intensive spreadsheet user. I am losing hours of time because Excel 2007 is simply too slow to calculate everything I’m trying to do. I recently purchased a duo quad core workstation and it’s still not fast enough.

Is there any way I can use an NVIDIA GPU and CUDA to just speed up Excel cacluations? Excel 2007 already does multi-core processing automatically with CPUs. Is there anyway I can just utilize the ~120+ cores on the GPU, today, to speed up Excel?

Thanks a lot.

steveccc

CUDA is a very different computing architecture, composed of units which are not like traditional CPU cores. As a result, custom code has to be written to offload calculations onto the graphics card. I’m sure a programmer could write an Excel plugin which did a specific task with CUDA, but I’m not aware of any such thing now.

Hi, Steve,

At this time, I’m not aware of a way for Excel to harness the power of CUDA.

How about doing it the other way? Write a parser to get data from an Excel file, do calculations on the GPU and write back to a file.

This sounds just like standalone program that happens to use Excel as the input and output format. Totally sensible, but negates a lot of the convenience of a spreadsheet.

You could make it a plug-in as well, I’m sure you can access the spreadsheet data directly through some COM API.

I’d be surprised if Excel is compute bound. I imagine a lot of the time is spent tracking dependencies and chasing pointers between cells.

CELLs can be functions, right? Say, you have a spreadsheet with 10,000 entries etc… I would guess there would be a lot of batch processing involved in it. Like Front office banking uses lot of spreadsheets…

Its all my guesses…thoug…

Appreciate if any knowledgeable shares their knowledge.

• Kandi