Failed to setup CUDA 7.5 with GEFORCE 940MX

Hello all,

I am a newbie in parallel programming…
I’m using Window 10 with graphic card GEFORCE 940MX… when I tried to install CUDA 7.5 toolkit …it shows me the following error

“This graphics driver could not find compatible graphics hardware. You may continue installation. but you may not be able to run CUDA applications with this driver. This may occur with graphics hardware that is newer than this toolkit. In that case, it is suggested that you keep your existing driver and install the remaining portions of the CUDA Toolkit.”

Is it because 940MX is newer than this toolkit that’s why I encountered such error? If so, do you guys know is there any solutions for this?

Thank you.

Yes. The solution is to retain your current driver. You do this by deselecting the option in the CUDA 7.5 installer to install the driver, but let the CUDA 7.5 installer install the remaining pieces (toolkit, etc.)

In other words, do exactly what it says here:

This may occur with graphics hardware that is newer than this toolkit. In that case, it is suggested that you keep your existing driver and install the remaining portions of the CUDA Toolkit.

So it means… I can’t run any CUDA applications with the current driver?

Yes, you can. I thought you were trying to install the CUDA toolkit.

The current driver you have is fine. You want to retain that driver. i.e. keep it.

If you want to install the CUDA toolkit, use the CUDA 7.5 toolkit installer, but deselect the option to install the driver that is bundled with the CUDA toolkit installer - because you want to keep your current driver, that is already installed.

Your driver that you have already installed will work fine with CUDA 7.5 You don’t need a new driver.

@txbob