Foolproof guide to move from microSD to USB SSD?

I am still fairly new to the Jetson Nano but have it set up for my needs over the last couple of weeks. As JetPack 4.5 seems to be natively able to boot from USB now I would love to move my existing installation (4.5).

What I found so far is a bit of “do this, afterwards look there, download something and follow guide a and b” which overall is very confusing for me and might render the Nano unbootable.

Is there a single functioning and easy to follow guide for this?

1 Like

You can check this youtube video.

This video, and the corresponding guide, is over a year old and will not work with current JetPack 4.5 afaik. JP 4.5 comes with somewhat built-in support but the current docs are not very clear Imho.

1 Like

I’m also very interested in such a tutorial!!

In our blogpost, we can move our root file system from EMMC to SSD in our DSBOARDs.

However, you can also use this guide for your development kit. The difference is only your microSD’s location.

Our EMMC’s location is: /dev/nvme0n1p1. So that, we used “sudo ./change-rootfs-storage.sh /dev/nvme0n1p1” command.

Your command should like that: sudo ./change-rootfs-storage.sh <full_path_of_microsd>

1 Like

Think I managed to do it - just took a spare MicroSD-Card so I would hopefully be able to simply swap back to a running system. What I did so far:

1. flash JP 4.5 onto the spare MicroSD
  2. insert into Jetson Nano, let it boot up and finalize basic setup
  3. switch to root
  4. downloaded the fix in step 2 from here
  5. chmod a+x the downloaded file and moved it to /usr/sbin/l4t_payload_updater_t210 (overwriting the existing one)
  6. followed step 1-5 from here (remove existing partitions with fdisk eventually)
  7. ran umount /dev/<sdx>1 *
  8. downloaded copyRootToUSB.sh from Jetson Hacks GitHub repo
  9. chmod a+x the file copyRootToUSB.sh just downloaded
  10. executed ./copyRootToUSB.sh -p /dev/<sdx>1 *
  11. ran mount /dev/<sdx>1 /mnt