Nano 4GB kit boot issues from SSD

Hi, I’m just getting started with Jetson Nano and have the 4Gb dev kit which has been running fine and so decided to ditch the 128GB SD card to boot from USB since I plan on saving / processing large video files etc. I just connected and got running from an external 250Gb Samsung 860 EVO SSD connected via a USB to SATA cable.
However it appears I can only boot the Nano if I first remove both the keyboard and mouse. Otherwise it just shows the NVidia logo on a loop. Originally I was using a Logitech wireless keyboard and mouse and thought it may be a power issue so connected up wired keyboard / mouse. No difference…
I then bought an external USB powered hub (Startech) and have the same problems. My main PSU is a recommended 5v 4A branded PSU (all bought from R.S Components so should be fine). The extlinux.conf file is pointing to the correct UUID so am not sure why there appears some USB device conflict…
Just bought the 2Gb kit as well as I’m hoping also to run that from a 500Gb SSD but just waiting on parts arriving.
Is there something I’m missing or I could check. As you may tell, I’m a complete newbie to Jetson but have previously been working on Arduino many years.

Hello,

I am not sure why you have to remove keyboard/mouse to boot nano. Did you configure anything before?

Hi Wayne. I had previously tried the boot from USB using an older method without success and so it may be something left over from that time. I’ve just received another 500Gb ssd so will try a fresh install. Was just reluctant before as I have tons of hours of tutorials on my original ssd that I don’t want to lose. So, I’ll try again this evening and hopefully this time it will work out.

How about you tell us what is your method to boot from ssd? We can verify your steps first.