I wanna make a spring to joint objects

Hello.

I wanna use “apply_force_at_pos” or “apply_body_force” but I can’t.
Both lines 29 and 30 fail to execute.
I would like to implement it myself without using the joints provided by Omnivese.
I am new to Python as well as Omniverse.
Please tell me what I am doing wrong.

You want to apply force through omni physics interface, like this:

import omni.physx

position = Gf.Vec3d(0.0, 0.0, 0.0)
        force = carb.Float3(1000.0, 1000.0, 1000.0)
        get_physx_interface().apply_force_at_pos("/xform", force, position)

Note that the apply body force function does not exist on this interface, only apply_force_at_pos

Thank you! I followed your advice and was able to implement the spring.
But now I can only apply the force at the moment I press the Run button. How can I make it run automatically every frame?
Also, I would like to know if there is a function to apply torque.

You would have to register to an update in your extension, so use a code like this:

def _on_update(self, e):
              pass

self._update_sub = omni.kit.app.get_app().get_update_event_stream().create_subscription_to_pop(self._on_update, name="my update")

Torque is unfortunately not yet exposed, we are working on exposing this through new PhysxForceAPI, this should available in next release.

I could run every frame!
What I want to do next is to place this spring function on a stage like Omnivese’s Joint (Create>Physics>Joint) and select two objects on the GUI to use the spring.
If this is difficult to explain, please provide documentation to which I should refer.

You can create your own custom widget in the Property window, but this is not well documented at the moment, same goes for adding items to the Create menu. I’ll try to give you a list of code examples, but if you are new to Python this might be a bit rough :)