Immediate Graphics Debugging crash

Greetings,

This is my first time using Nsight. When I attempt to debug my program in VS 2010 using Nsight > Start Graphics Debugging, I get a crash that occurs before the first frame is drawn. If I attempt to attach the VS2010 debugger to see where it crashed, I don’t get a call stack. If I click the “Check Online for a Solution…” button, I get nothing (the program just closes). If I click on View Problem Details, this is what I get:

I’m using Windows 7. This is an OpenGL application using OpenSceneGraph. And again, I am using Visual Studio 2010, version 10.0.40219.1

My graphics card is a GTX 680, and my driver version is 335.23

Edit: At the time that I wrote this post, I was using Nsight for Visual Studio version 3.2. I have since switched to using version 4.0, but I am still having the problem.

Any ideas?

Edit: I read on another forum post that graphics debugging requires the OpenGL 4.2 core profile to be used (although I’m guessing that has since been bumped to 4.3 or 4.4). Is that true? If so, that might be my problem.

Hi,

If you don’t attach to the application does a window come up which generates a crash dump?

Dan

Hi Dan,

If I just run the application, without any debugger attached, there is no crash. However, if I run the program by going to Nsight>Start Graphics Debugging, I get a crash during initialization.

Hi,

I mean to say that if you run “Start Graphics Debugging” but otherwise don’t attempt to attach to it with your own debugger, does a crash reporter come up? If you can send me the dump that it generates I can take a look at it (or alternatively if you want to send me your application I can take a look at that as well; send me a private message if so).

Dan