Nsight debugger crashes my graphics application on startup

I have an OpenGL application that I would like to debug with the Nsights graphics debugger. Unfortunately it directly crashes on startup.

I am using glfw and glad for creating the window context. It seems like Nsight crashes somewhere when creating the window context. The application works fine on its own.

I am using Visual Studio Community 2017 v15.5.2 and Nsight v5.4

My Graphics card is a NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 with driver version 388.59

I have solely downloaded Nsight for debugging my application so I have no further experience with it. Could there be a problem with some configuration? I would be thankful for any kind of input. Also I can provide more information and specs if needed.

Best regards
Luka

Hi luka.l,

I’m sorry for the problem you met.
Can you provide more information please?

• OS info
  • Did the issue happen on other platforms? such as WIN10 RS2, WIN1O RS3 platforms.
  • Can we have your sample please then we can identify the issue quickly.

Thanks,
Letitia

Hi Letitia

My OS is Windows 10 Home v1709 Build: 16299.125
I have only access to this version of Windows so I have not tested it on any other platforms.
With sample I assume you mean the graphics project? If so, here is the GitHub link: https://github.com/Haeri/PhotonBox

It is a VS Studio project for an OpenGl application. To run it successfully, the FreeType dll is required from here:
https://github.com/ubawurinna/freetype-windows-binaries/blob/master/win64/freetype271MT.dll

Let me know if any more info is needed.
Regards,
Luka

Hi luka.l,

I tested your sample with an internal nsight build on WIN10 RS3 platform, no crash, it worked fine with nsight
Nsight 5.4 doesn’t support WIN10 RS3 platform, please wait for the release build and then check it again

Thanks,
Letitia

Hi Letitia

Thank you very much for the quick reply.