Nvidia control panel not working after installing CUDA Toolkit

I am new to CUDA Development. I installed CUDA Toolkit 8.0 on my laptop running windows 10 home and has GTX 960M. Before Installing CUDA Toolkit, the context menu on desktop (right-click on desktop) used to have an option to access Nvidia Control Panel. And there also used to be system tray icons for accessing GeForce experience and GPU Activity status icon.
But after Installing CUDA Toolkit, these icons and options are no longer visible. And when I try to launch the Nvidia control panel from the System control panel, an error dialog box appears stating - “Nvidia Display Settings are not available. You are not currently using a display attached to Nvidia GPU.”
I don’t understand what this means. Did mess-up the CUDA Toolkit Installation? Do I have to re-install the Display Drivers?

Note: During the installation, I deselected the Display Driver, GeForce Experience and PhysX from the options because I already had the latest up-to-date versions of the respective tools installed on the system.

Please help, I don’t know what to do…!!!

I currently have the same issue.

Laptop using the 1050 using the 378.49 driver, the context menu option for the Nvidia control panel disappeared, and manually running the file triggered the same error as mentioned above.

Issue appeared after installing the CUDA 8 toolkit while deselecting the driver and Physx option.

Here is the current dxdiag output:

Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050
       Manufacturer: NVIDIA
          Chip type: GeForce GTX 1050
           DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
        Device Type: Render-Only Device
         Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1C8D&SUBSYS_07BE1028&REV_A1
      Device Status: 0180200A [DN_DRIVER_LOADED|DN_STARTED|DN_DISABLEABLE|DN_NT_ENUMERATOR|DN_NT_DRIVER] 
Device Problem Code: No Problem
Driver Problem Code: Unknown
     Display Memory: 12171 MB
   Dedicated Memory: 4053 MB
      Shared Memory: 8118 MB