PCIe endpoint setup on Xavier

Hi,

I am new to embeded system. I am trying to enable PCIe endpoint mode on a Xavier and get confused for reflashing L4T.

First, I checked my current L4T version, which is R32.3.1, as shown below:

And I also trid to search the file tegra-pcie-eo-mem.c, but got “No such file or directory” as shown above.

Then, I tried to follow the doc, NVIDIA JETSON AGX XAVIER PCIE ENDPOINT SOFTWARE FOR L4T(released May 1, 2019).

There are two questions here:

1. On section 1.3, it says " All commands described in this application note must be run as root. Some commands use shell I/O redirection, and will not operate correctly if run using sudo." What does the last sentence mean? All I know is that if I want to run as root, I need to use “sudo”, not sure why using “sudo” can be incorrect if we still want to run as root.
  2. On section 1.4, in step 1, the ODM data in the extracted L4T release directory needs to be changed. My question is where the L4T directory is. As I can check my L4T version, I thought I should already get the L4T directory, but I am not sure what keywords I should use to find it, not sure where the folder exactly locates. Although in section 1.1, it mentions “nvidia/drivers/pci/dwc/pcie-tegra.c” and “kernel-4.9/drivers/pci/dwc/”. But I am still not sure what the absolute path is for L4T directory. And I also ran "sudo find pcie-tegra.c"under my desktop folder, i.e. /home/my_hostname, but got message “No such file or directory”.

Thanks so much for the help!

Hi,

We don’t put the source code on the tegra device. You need to download it from our dlc.

in order to run Xavier AGX C5 controller in EP mode you need to modified the file Linux_for_Tegra/p2972-0000.conf.common, and set the ODMDATA=0x9190000 to ODMDATA=0x9191000.

above change is only required to flash Xavier AGX that you are planing to run in EP mode.

if you have other Xavier that you plan to use as host mode, you should flash with default ODMDATA

1 Like