Raspberry Pi HQ Camera Compatibility

Has anyone tried if Raspberry Pi’s new HQ Camera works with Jetson Nano? I figured it would since it’s probably the same driver.

I think you need to implement the driver for this sensor to work on Nano.

Hi,
I can confirm that the new HQ cameras don’t (currently) work on the Jetson Nano. My guess is that the driver for the Sony IMX477 sensor is not implemented - at least, my Nano delivers me the message “camera not found”.
I am new with the Jetson, so there might be a solution around this issue, I found on the Wiki the link to RidgeRun, a company that might produce according V4L2 drivers, but the costs are enormous.
Maybe NVIDIA will jump in, since there will surely be a lot of people who want to use the improved camera module from the Raspberry Pi. And, if it’s not supported by the Jetson Nano, these people will go for another SBC solution, I guess.
BTW, AlliedVision has already drivers for their IMX477 cameras, but I don’t think that they might be of particular help for the Raspberry Pi HQ camera module.

I see that the ridgerun page list the imx477 as already developed a v4l2 driver for other nvidia SoC:

Also leopard imaging has some products utilizing imx477 here:
https://leopardimaging.com/product/nvidia-jetson-cameras/nvidia-tx1tx2-mipi-camera-kits/csi-2-mipi-cameras/li-jetson-kit-imx477-x/

So definitely seems possible! Im a programmer but never worked on camera drivers. I’d definitely be interested in helping though when i get my camera and nano

Hi All,

RidgeRun is working on a free version of the driver. We expect to have it done in 2 to 3 weeks. As you noticed we already have the IMX477 driver for other cameras so we are porting the driver to make it working on Xavier NX + Raspberry Pi HQ. This driver should also work on Jetson Nano. Please stay tuned, we will add the release notes in this wiki page soon:

-David

2 Likes

Hi David,

Thanks for the response. One question about this new driver. On the Wiki it says: