Turn 12v Solenoid on through GPIO using Transistors

Hi,

I’m not experienced in Electronics and i’m suffering to turn a 12v and 600mA solenoid on.

I have an external 12v power supply that will be used to turn it on, initially I used some relay boards to turn the things on, but the answer time wasn’t as fast as I needed, so I decided to use transistors as switch.

I used a BD135 NPN transistor which has a beta of 150, later I saw that this beta was not enough to turn my solenoid on, because the max current that the GPIO provides is 1/2 mA and I needed something around 4mA.

After that, I decided to buy a logic N-Channel MOSFET (P33N10) as it would start working from 2V, the logic level of the Jetson Nano is supposed to be 3.3v, but when I tried it nothing happened.

Am I missing some technical detail? is there another way to make it work?

You can refer to some MOSFET (like Q48 etc.) design in nano carrier board schematic: https://developer.nvidia.com/jetson-nano-carrier-board-design-files

One option is to use ULN2003. Since your solenoid takes 600 mA you can connect two channels in parallel. Each channel handles 500 mA.

If you want to use discrete components you can build a Darlington transistor with high beta.

Please note a diode in parallel to your inductive load. It is important to clamp voltage spikes when you power off your solenoid. ULN2003 has these diodes built-in.

@GrayDaemon I was thinking about using TIP120, is there any detail that may not work with this transistor in my Solenoid?

Thanks @Trumany ! but i’m not in this level yet! :)