Emulated Environment

Hi,

I’m completely new to programming for GPU boards. I need to start learning how to use the Jetson TX1 because that’s what I’ll be using for my job. Unfortunately, I don’t have access to the physical board because we are a startup and only have one, which I don’t have access to. But I need to spend the next couple of weeks learning how to program it. Is there an emulated environment that I can ssh into that gives me the same environment of the TX1 so I can start figuring it out?

Thanks!

Hi joeldick,

You could start with JetPack to install Jetson SDK, it will install developer tools to host PC, and to install the libraries and APIs, samples, and documentation needed to jumpstart your development environment.

[url]https://developer.nvidia.com/embedded/jetpack[/url]

Thanks

FYI, if you check the CUDA version listed for a TX1, and use the same version on your host PC, then much of it will be an exact match (not everything, the JTX1 does not use PCIe…some features may be missing and also assumes the PC video card is Maxwell architecture…the newer 1000 series, e.g, 1060Ti, are Pascal…older ones, like 960 or 660, are Maxwell). @kayccc mentioned JetPack…this allows you to check particular packages (and samples) to install for both PC and Jetson…it’s as close to uniform install and programming as you’ll get.

Thanks so much for the responses both.

So I understand it, JetPack and the Jetson SDK can be installed on my host system without access to the Jetson TX1 board, and that will give me the environment I need to develop for GPU computing on the board. Is that accurate?