How to make use of Equidistant fisheye model in Isaac Simulation

Hi All,

I’m pretty new to Omniverse and Isaac simulation. I recently tried to do something with robot simulation samples and add some different cameras to test. I read the docs and found all the distortion parameters are not in use for the Equidistant fisheye model. Though may not fully support, since the model is there, I suppose there should be a default model and setting for the Equidistant model. I tried OpenCV’s cv::fisheye::undistortImage function but the output images are not same with the images recorded by a pinhole camera at same position with same lens setting. My questions are:

1. Do I have any way to retrieve Original pinhole camera model image with the default Equidistant fisheye camera images with same aperture and focal length with either OpenCV or just mathematical models? Or can we know the default Equidistant fisheye camera lens projection and distortion parameters?

2. Is it possible to make use of the Equidistant camera model or are there any other first or third party alternative ext. to implement fisheye camera with Equidistant model?

Thanks,
SF

Hi @ShakeyF , does this document (Fisheye properties section) helps you answer your questions?: Cameras — Omniverse Robotics documentation

Hi @rthaker, I’ve tried a lot with the provided docs, but as I said, all distortion settings are not for Equidistant model in fisheye camera sections. That’s why I’m asking if there’s a default distortion and parameter of the provided Equidistant model.

The equidistant camera model is an ideal camera model, it doesn’t respond to other distortion control as some of the more advanced camera model do. Equidistant only responds to the camera focal length and aperture. Internally, those two values are used to compute a horizontal field of view (measured in radians) the exact sample way they are for the pinhole camera.