Jetson Nano 2G First Boot - Partition TBC not found

I’m hitting a wall with the Jetson Nano 2G dev board early in TegraBoot with all available stock jetson nano images available to download from Nvidia. I also can’t seem to put the board in Recovery Mode, and thus can’t use the sdkmanager to correct the flash state. While I’m new to the Jetson products, this feels entirely too broken for a product less than a year old. At this point, I’m suspecting the board was flashed incorrectly at the factory or was otherwise corrupted. Please see the serial dumps below:

1. sdcard with jp45, jp451,jp46 (2G images) as well as r32.1 stock image downloads. All images fail to detect partition layout early in boot with the attached serial log: jetson-nano-tbc_error.log (2.2 KB)

2. as a comparison, the boot without an sdcard: jetson-no-sdcard.log (17.2 KB)

3. Jumping ‘FC REC’ with ground before powering on the board results in no serial output to upload, although LED is on. The nano is not detected over the usb port on any of my 3 machines, tested with two separate usb cables… No output or usb events happen even when removing the jumper from ‘FC REC’ after power-on (LED stays on).

I originally wanted to suspect the 2018 version TegraBoot on a 2020 board, but I’ve seen a similar version string on other serial logs posted here. I unfortunately don’t know what a successful boot should look like for this board to compare against.

I attempted to dig into how to make a bootable “bootloader update package” (bup) image, but I’m blocked at how to create a bootable image after generating the bup blob – the documentation seems to assume you already have a bootable linux sdcard to place the bup blobs into…? Please advise.

Please directly flash your board with sdkmanager.

1. Recovery mode does not care about what software is pre-installed on your board. Thus, we don’t need to study the date or version of the software there. It is just broken.