Micro SD for Jetson TX2

Hi there,

I am writing regarding how to integrate a micro SD card with the Jetson TX2 for the purpose of expanding storage that we can write to disk. I’m quite new to this so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Our application is to stream and record data of 6 synced cameras to disk - ideally recording data frame by frame in a RAW format or a video encoded format.

We have the following carrier board from Leopard Imaging: LI-TX1-CB-6CAM | Leopard Imaging Inc. which only states it has a micro SD interface without many details.

From this thread TX2 SD card slot - #7 by Andrey1984 it seems Jetson TX2 only supports UHS I cards.

A few questions I have which I hope you could clarify:

• Can Micro SDXC cards be used and what format does it need to be to work with Jetson TX2?
• Does class A1 vs A2 make a difference?
• Do you think V30 will be good enough for this application?
• Are there any Micro SD card specifications you can recommend based on the application we want?

Any insights would be much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Josiah

Faster SD cards work, but they fall back to the slower speed standards. I don’t have any particular recommendations, other than I’ve had good luck with Samsung micro-SD cards.

FYI, I doubt you’ll have good luck with being able to support the required bandwidth on SD. I’ve never used NVMe or SSD (either SATA connector or m.2) with a Jetson (I don’t have any to try), but these are much faster than SD. You could just mount this on some special mount point where you want the data to appear, and then you wouldn’t need to deal with learning to make alternate boot media work as a boot drive.

Thanks for this linuxdev. Yes, I’ve heard that you can use newer cards and they should be backwards compatible with the older interface (at the slower speeds). I’ll have a look around.