SDK Manager Install Errors

First off I apologize if this is posted to the wrong area of the forums; I’m fairly new to the Nvidia developer forums.

That being said, when I’m attempting to install the Nvidia SDK manager onto my host machine, the normal apt install gives the unmet dependencies libgconf-2-4 and libcanberra-gtk-module but it is not installable, and then when attempting the dpkg method, I still get “sdkmanager depends on libgconf-2-4 / libcanberra-gtk-module but not installed” errors.

So what is it that I’m missing to get the install to work?

Try this on the host:

sudo apt update
sudo apt --fix-broken install
sudo apt-get install libgconf-2-4 libcanberra-gtk-module
sudo apt-get install python
1 Like

Thank you very much!

This is still not working for me. When I get to the third command I get:

user01@X1-Carbon:~/Downloads$ sudo apt-get install libgconf-2-4
Reading package lists… Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information… Done
Package libgconf-2-4 is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source

E: Package ‘libgconf-2-4’ has no installation candidate

If you run this without libgconf-2-4, or perhaps even without libcanberra-gtk-module, does the python install work? Basically what is important is to get the correct version of python installed, and some systems will have another version by default.

linuxdev, I don’t know how to make the install skip over libgconf-2-4 and libcanberra-gtk-module. Is that what you mean by " run this without libgconf-2-4 , or perhaps even without libcanberra-gtk-module"? If so, please advise how to do it.

also, please weigh in on the error I am seeing (shown in my previous post): E: Package ‘libgconf-2-4’ has no installation candidate Why would that be?

@A.Ro :