The carrier boards with the dev kits vs other carrier boards....what's the difference?

I’m quite new to Jetson. On my search for a carrier board with 2 x M.2 (one for SSD, one for a capture card) I basically came across two possibilities.

One is made by Forecr, they have a couple of models suitable and I have one and it works great. That’s the DSBOARD-ORNX by the way.

But I can also see there is a carrier board that comes with the Orin Nano Dev Kit which also suits Orin NX (which I rely on, for its hardware encoding). This also has 2 x M.2 slots. Plus, there is also what seems to be an identical board that you can buy on its own from Waveshare (is it identical? I have looked at the STEP file for the NVIDIA one, and compared to a screenshot of the Waveshare one and it looks at the very least incredibly similar).

Are dev kit boards inferior, likely to burn out or whatever more quickly than ones that are sold for general purpose?

NV devkit is more like a reference board that other vendors may use it as template to make their own board.

There are also some flexibilities in the I/O that other vendors may enable them on their board but those things do not exist on devkit.

You can buy any kind of boards to meet your requirement. But please be aware that the NV moderators here and NV software can only support the NV devkit. We don’t guarantee you can use sdkmanager to flash those custom boards from other vendors.

Also, we don’t guarantee the interface running on custom boards. For example, maybe some usb ports functionalities on custom boards are not stable. For such case, you need to report the issue to the vendor but not ask them here because we don’t know the actual design of such carrier boards.

Ok, thanks, what I’m asking really is would the NVIDIA dev kit carrier board, when paired with a production-quality module, be suitable for proper use in the field, 24/7 etc.

Or are the dev kit carrier boards somehow lower quality in terms of the components used.