Disk space used is more than what is actually shown!

I tried to increase the swap size from 4gb to 6gb using the GitHub jetsonHacksNano tutorial and after the completion I rebooted the system and got stuck on a black screen from where I had to clear some files in order to make disk space as I was getting the error “this computer has only 180mb disk space left” and I have a 32 gb sd card. So after rebooting the swap size was indicating 11.9GB instead of 6 GB. I disabled the file and uninstalled it using remove command and changed back to 4GB swap space but still my /mnt folder shows that it is using 8.3 GB space when there’s just one file in it of size 4GB and rest of the files are hidden.

I need help removing the hidden files and clearing space on my micro sd card!
All help is appreciated! (I’m new to Jetson Nano)

I don’t know if I can help or not, but some preliminary information might be useful. Is this SD card mounted on a host PC, or in use on the Jetson now? Can you work either way?

Note: On a Jetson the SD card is probably “/dev/mmcblk1”. On a host PC the SD card is probably “/dev/mmcblk0” (this might differ, but if you monitor “dmesg --follow” as you insert the SD card on the host PC, then it’ll tell you which device and partition it sees, along with an auto mount point if it auto mounts).

If mounted on the host PC, and if the mount location is “/mnt”, what do you see from:

• du /mnt
    df -h -T /mnt
    ls -lid /mnt
    sudo ls -li /mnt/*
  • If on host and SD card as a whole is “/dev/mmcblk0” (adjust, maybe it is “/dev/sdb”):
    lsblk -f /dev/mmcblk0
    sudo gdisk -l /dev/mmcblk0
    sudo blockdev --getsize64 /dev/mmcblk0 (the SD card as a whole)
    `sudo blockdev --getsize64 /dev/mmcblk0p1 (the rootfs partition of the SD card)

In a similar way, if this is directly on the Jetson, and assuming the SD card is “/dev/mmcblk1”:

• lsblk -f /dev/mmcblk1
    sudo gdisk -l /dev/mmcblk1
    sudo blockdev --getsize64 /dev/mmcblk1 (the SD card as a whole)