Flex (1.1) - User controlled object and collision handling

Hi,

I’m a new developer of Flex - I’ve started exploring Flex 1.1 and plan to use it in a haptics project. Note that, I’m using standalone Flex (and not through Unreal Engine), and am using Windows 10/VS 2015. I’ve browsed through the samples and available documentation.
I believe there are a few basic things I’m missing, and could not find any direct suggestion/best practice recommendation in any of the reference material. So will appreciate any help with the following items:

1. If I want to have an object which is directly user controlled (i.e. through input) - what is the best way for that? Should it be a Flex object (or should it be an external object/modeled with PhysX etc)?
    Right now I’ve setup a single particle as such - and am updating its position directly every frame based on user input (from keyboard/haptics controller). Is that fine?
    I could not find any samples/demos in Flex where any object is movable by the user, if I missed any please point.

2. Is there a way to query/know if two objects have collided? I believe PhysX has similar functionalities, but could not find any in Flex. In regard to the previous question, if a user controlled object collides with a flex scene object, is there a way to know so custom code can be added?
    If yes, and if my custom object is a single particle, is there a way to know exactly what other particles it collided with?

Thanks a lot for your help. Again, if I’m missing something obvious thanks for your patience in explaining.

Cheers, Wiz

Hi! I’m using Flex with Unreal.

1. I think your current approach is correct (is there really another way?). You can also use gravity and force fields to get the particle to move.

2. I have working collision events for a Flex object (sphere) and a non-Flex cube, with collision information about the impact. This is using Unreal Engine 4. I have yet to make it work with a Flex emitter’s particle systems.