How to eliminate slippage when grasping soft objects with Flex backend?

Hi NVIDIA and fellow robotics friends,

I’m a PhD student currently working on deformable object grasping. I am trying to enable my surgical robot to grasp soft objects in Issac Gym. However, my objects keep slipping away from my robot’s gripper when the robot attempts to grasp them, as shown in the videos below.
da Vinci slips in Issac Gym 2 (1.5 MB) da Vinci slips in Issac Gym 1 (2.0 MB) da Vinci slips in Issac Gym (1.9 MB)

Over the past 3 days, I have tried tuning many parameters such as friction, thickness, Young, Poisson, etc., but unfortunately, none of those works. I already set both dynamic_friction and static_friction to 100 but nothing improved.

Please give me some advice on how to eliminate slippage in Issac Gym Flex. What parameters of the environment, the robot, and the soft object should I change to enable a robust grasp of the soft bodies?

You can reproduce my situation by running the test_move_joints_independently_and_soft.py file in the Github repo I attach below.
https://github.com/baotruyenthach/dvrk_IssacGym/blob/master/python/examples/test_move_joints_independently_and_soft.py

For your convenience, here are the parameters I’m using:

Thanks a lot for your help,
Bradley

Hi Bradley,

This scenario is a little challenging due to the scale. I wonder, are you using the gripper visual mesh for collision detection? It is quite complex which will lead to a lot of redundant contacts making the problem harder. If possible you should use a simplified mesh for the rigid body collision shape.

In this case linear (inner) iterations may be more important than substeps. This is because we use triangle mesh-based contact, and once interpenetration occurs it cannot be recovered from. This means each substep needs to be solved to convergence. I would try some solver params in this range:

sim_params.flex.substeps = 4
sim_params.flex.num_outer_iterations = 6