Problem building SDK samples something to do with nvcc?

Hi,

I’m new to CUDA programming, and I’m having seemingly endless headaches just getting some code, any code, compiling so I can start playing about with it to see how it works. I’ve had to buy a new desktop PC because the laptop I was developing on had some wacky driver problem which meant that it couldn’t compile CUDA code even though my combination of hardware and software should have coped with it. I’m set up on the desktop now, but I can’t compile code on this either.

I’ve got an AlienWare Area-51 X-58 (Intel Core i7 CPU 2.67GHz, 3GB RAM, with a GeForce 9800 GT), running 64-bit Windows Vista and Visual Studio 2008. When I try to compile samples using the Release_vc90.sln I get more errors than I know what to do with, so I tried to simplify things by using the individual solution files. This is an example of what I get when trying to compile the particles sample:

Any ideas what’s going on here?

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=s…amp;btnG=Search

The linker is unable to find cutil32D.lib, probably something with running on a 64 bit machine.

Are you using CUDA 2.2?

This thread looks to have some good suggestions…

Try checking out some of the other threads in that search if necessary…good luck!

I feel silly for not having Googled the error :"> I did a search on these forums but that wasn’t as successful.

I’m using CUDA 2.2, yes[*EDIT]. I should have mentioned that, I suppose. The problem (or rather, the immediate problem) does seem to be what those threads suggest, namely that I wasn’t set up for compiling for 64 bit. I followed the advice, added the stuff to my visual studio installation, rebuilt the x64 versions of the relevant CUDA tool stuff, and tried to build particles again. This happens:

… At which point Visual Studio stops working and I have to End Process on devenv.exe via the Task Manager in order to shut it down.