PxTransform synchronization with own Transform class

I am trying to integrate PhysX 3.4 into my own “game” engine. Naturally, I have my own implementation of Transform. Now I am wondering, what the recommended way is to synchronize the simulated transformation from PhysX with my own transform. Is there a way to pass a reference of my data in any way? I have seen someone do a loop copying all the PxTransform data, but this surely can’t be the right way?

I am very new to PhysX. In fact, I have just recently managed to compile it with my code. I apologize if I’m missing something very obvious. I mostly read the “Users Guide” that was provided, but the information was very scarce. If anyone has a more in depth articles I could read, that would be great.

Thanks in advance and let me know if more info is required.

There isn’t a way to fill in custom data structures with transform data. You will need to either query the transform from the PhysX actor and either use that transform, or convert and copy that transform to your own format.

However, you should not usually need to copy all the data between engines. PhysX can provide a list of active actors, or a list of active transforms (this feature is deprecated as it offers no benefit over active actor list). You should only needs to update the transforms for the subset of actors that are active in your engine.

Internally, PhysX stores actor poses in body space (centered around the computed center of mass of the body), while the public interface operates in model/actor space. There is a space conversion that happens when you set/get the actor’s global pose. These spaces are often the same (e.g. if you are simulating basic shapes like spheres or boxes) but can be quite different when simulating convex meshes or compound shape actors.