Set the Jetson TX2 to Factory setting

Hello everyone,

I’m completely new to Jetson world. I got Jetson TX2 from the university to do a research project using it (real time object detection using Jetson TX2). I powered the Jetson TX2 in order to start installing Jetpack. It displayed the Linux desktop with Nvidia account. I noticed that there might have been some prior students who worked on it before. So is there way i can set the Linux on the Jetson TX2 to Factory mode so that everything was downloaded from others will be deleted and i get eventually the Ubuntu as it came from Nvidia.

Would appreciate your help

Khaled
Master-student

Just do an ordinary flash of the most recent release. FYI, JetPack/SDK Manager is a front end to the flash software, and is also a front end to adding the extra content (e.g., CUDA). You can find the list of releases here:
[url]https://developer.nvidia.com/embedded/jetpack-archive[/url]

See if your login works at that URL, the SDKM will use that name/pass to log in to download files during the flash. Make sure you have an HDMI monitor and keyboard attached to the Jetson (flash will complete, and then newer releases will have you create your account on first boot of the TX2…only then can extra package install continue).

The software runs on an Ubuntu PC, the Jetson is put in recovery mode, and the communications is through the micro-B USB cable (try to use the one which comes with the dev kit…it has the NVIDIA green on the connector…others typically are for charging and fail if put under stress).

Thank you for your support. I will try it. Just one question so that i understand what i’m doing. What do you mean by flashing , to install the jetpack ( thus i need a host pc and a target)?, or flashing means to install the latest release of Ubuntu on the Jetson ?

i would appreciate your support

Khaled