Video textures

Hi all,

Does Omniverse Create support video textures? And if so what formats are supported?

Greetings from Amsterdam, Sander

3 Likes

Its on our list to support. One hack is to use UDIM textures and connect to time variable in MDL to advance the frames.

We will make this easier when the material editor is in (next couple of months)

Thank you for the info. Can’t wait for this feature it would make it the cherry on top for me. Unfortunately I am new to MDL and never had to use Udim before so that sounds like a no go for now.
Love the program so far btw, spectacular quality and performance.

1 Like

Thank you, this is just the beginning, so much in the works. Thank you for being a part of beta and helping shape the product.

1 Like

Hi Sander, thanks for the kind words!

Until Omniverse fully supports video textures, we have a basic MDL material which can animate UDIM textures, creating the illusion of a video texture. You just have to assign the MDL material to a surface and point it to a folder containing a sequence of animated images named with consecutive numbers (e.g. frame001.png, frame002.png, …).

You can see an example of this UDIM texture MDL in the video below:

Let us know if this sounds interesting to you, and we can share the MDL file here.

Ah that looks awesome, exactly what I need at the moment. Been using unreal for some real-time action but programs like that always break for me when you get into the nitty gritty like transparency/reflection etc… :/ Omniverse seems to have none of those drawbacks.

Anyways, so the marker is just a counter? A file would be much appreciated.
My interface looks a little bit different from yours. Can’t find a details tab for the life of me (no audio settings and utilities either. Are those plugins?).
I can’t yet wrap my head around the MDL shader. USD preview surface = MDL? Did you use omnigraph? (supercool btw coming from Houdini)

So long story short, yes file please :)