Placement policy option missing in XenCenter

Help please!

Title says it all. I followed the install instructions to the letter and tried 3 differennt drivers but I’m not getting the Plaement policy options in XenCenter. I’m running on 6.5 SP1 with all updates installed. I installed the nvidia xenServer Supplemental Pack ISO as well but change. I’m kinda new to GRID but if somebody could shed any light on this I’d very much appreciate it.

Many thanks

Hi

Have you licensed XenServer correctly?

Which GPUs are you using? K1 / K2 or M60 / M10?

Where did you get the drivers from?

Regards

Ben

Hi thanks for the quick response. I haven’t received my XenServer license yet. We purchased XenServer Enterprise.
We have K2 and got the drivers off Nvidia’s website
GRID - K2 - XenServer 6.5

Could it be to do with the lack of XenServer license?

Ah, that’s your problem. You need to license XenServer before you can use vGPU profiles, and yes, Enterprise will unlock it for you.

Until it’s licensed, you will only be able to use GPU Passthrough, and not vGPU. So with a single K2, that’s 2 users maximum per Card. Soon as XenServer is licensed, everything will start working :-)

Passthrough does not require the driver in the hypervisor, which is why this works without licensing.

Just so you’re ready for when the licenses turn up, you mention you’ve tried a few different drivers, so just to make sure you have the right one installed, you should be using this one: NVIDIA-vGPU-kepler-xenserver-6.5-367.64.x86_64.rpm

With XenServer, you can also use the .ISO included in the driver downoad to install the vGPU drivers. Just install it using the update feature in XenCenter, saves using SSH :-)

Regards

Ben

Ben,

really appreceiate your assitance in clearing this up.
I shall wait for my license to turn up. I’m familiar with the driver update so that shouldn’t be a problem.
If I get stuck at another point may I contact you again for help? Looks like you are pretty clued up on this ;)