Updating the clock frequency in Device tree on jetson nx

Hi,
I have been trying to configure CAN-BUS on the JETSON NX development board with a CAN transceiver SN65HVD230.

My requirement is to to make a change on CAN clock rate in device tree. I am completely new in linux field and i want to make my CAN clock rate to 40MHZ. Can you provide any device tree related documents, tools which is used to update device tree. Also the procedure for decompiling the image and how to update the device tree and how to flash it again to the board.

Please explain the build and image creation procedure and how we can replace the dtb.

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Hi aravind:
Link to follow for kernel image update:
https://docs.nvidia.com/jetson/l4t/index.html#page/Tegra%20Linux%20Driver%20Package%20Development%20Guide/kernel_custom.html
For Flashing device:
https://docs.nvidia.com/jetson/l4t/index.html#page/Tegra%20Linux%20Driver%20Package%20Development%20Guide/flashing.html#

Now comes to CAN clock part:
If you want to set exact 40MHz:
Follow this:
To achieve 40MHz, first you need to set CAN parent clock as pllaon.
Please follow below doc to do so:
https://docs.nvidia.com/jetson/l4t/index.html#page/Tegra%20Linux%20Driver%20Package%20Development%20Guide%2Fclocks.html%23wwpID0E06B0HA

Check “ To use PLLAON as clock source” section

Also, by default, CAN clock rate requested is 50MHz from MTTCAN kernel driver. So to use 40MHz, make below change in driver:
The mttcan kernel driver sets the CAN clock rate. Follow the instructions in the Kernel Customization topic’s section Obtaining the Kernel Sources with Git to obtain kernel source code, then update the clock rate in the mttcan driver as in this code snippet:

.set_can_core_clk = true,

.can_core_clk_rate = 50000000, //// modify here (in Hz) so it should be 40000000

.can_clk_rate = 200000000, //// four times of core clk rate

Build the kernel and flash with the new kernel Image.