MIPI CSI lane grouping

Hi,

I’m exploring the Jetson Nano module and its MIPI CSI interface. In my case there will be 3 cameras with 4 lanes each.

Question: are there limitations on which lanes I can assign to which camera? Ideally I’d like to map them out so that the PCB routing becomes as easy as possible.

Best,
Børge

If I am not mistaken, you can only combine subsequent lanes. Ie. CSI 0/1 for camera 1, CSI 2/3 for camera 2 and CSI 4/5 for camera 3.

Hi borgeqm27i,

Please refer to CSI chapter in design guide: [url]https://developer.nvidia.com/embedded/dlc/jetson-nano-product-design-guide[/url]

Thanks a lot everybody! That explains matters.

Børge

Hello,

I am new to Jetson Nano so please excuse me if my question is very basic.

For connecting the three cameras on Nano developer kit (which support only one), i have to take out the CSI connections from the J2 connector. right ?

I see in the schematics that the other camera pins are put on test points on bottom of PCB. Are these test points available, so that i can take out the Nano module pins directly via soldering few test points on the developer kit PCB ?

I would be very grateful for any help provided in this regard.

Thanks
Sany

Hi Sany,

I’ve considered makign a breakout board which both plugs into the Nano development board and can carry the Nano module. All pins routed straight through except the MIPI-CSI and I2C for camera control.

Is there an interest in something like that?

Best,
Børge

Hello Børge

Thanks for such a quick response.

I was actually considering the Nano development kit because of cost. I was not able to figure out why the module cost is higher than the development kit.

But in the development kit I can connect only one camera over MIPI. i was thinking if its possible to take out the pin signals from J2 connector or the test points directly.

I need USB3, ethernet and wifi as well. so inclusing these when i considered the cost, i felt developer kit is more suitable.